Faculty Recruiting Support CICS

Pledge to Take Action Against Racism

As leaders and members of a college with considerable influence in computer and information sciences—and as community members of a university with significant impact on the culture and potential of the Commonwealth and region—we recognize our own complicity in maintaining a harmful status quo that continues to alienate historically marginalized populations. In keeping with our college’s vision, “Computing for the Common Good,” we must likewise live and support the common good by taking significant and immediate actions against racism and structural oppression in any form. We must also find and resolve systemic issues that prevent the creation of an environment that supports the success of all. As Robin DiAngelo puts it in her book White Fragility, “The antidote to guilt is action."

By working together, we can do more as agents of positive change. We pledge to educate ourselves, our college, and our university to recognize and work against structural racism, especially in our field and industry. 

By signing this pledge, we each commit to taking two antiracist actions between now and October 9, 2020—such as educating ourselves about systemic racism using in the resources made available through the CICS Antiracism Resources webpage, serving on a committee for racial equity at CICS, or participating in direct actions against racism. As a community, we will reconvene for a special meeting on October 9, 2020, honoring Indigenous Peoples’ Day, and featuring a guest speaker, where we will discuss what we have learned and accomplished in the course of taking these pledged actions—the first steps of many for us to take together as a community.

Take the pledge

We Took the Pledge 

The following CICS community members have signed the pledge as of July 27, 2020. This list will be updated approximately every other business day.

Laura Haas, Dean
Cecilia Ferrando, Student
Eileen Hamel, Staff
Phuthipong Bovornkeeratiroj, Student
Subhransu Maji, Faculty
Nader Akoury, Student
Ivon Arroyo, Faculty
Nicholas Perello, Student
Nisarga Patil, Student
Alicia Clemente, Staff
Neena Thota, Faculty
Jaime Dávila, Faculty
Corinne Greene, Student
Michelle Trim, Faculty
Joseph M. Spitzer, Student
Kenta Takatsu, Student
Cameron Musco, Faculty
Alyx Burns, Student
Matthew Hale Rattigan, Faculty
Neil Immerman, Faculty
Akanksha Atrey, Student
Maeve Newman, Student
Siobhan Mei, Faculty
Will Lee, Student
Erika Lynn Dawson Head, Staff
Dale Osef, Staff
Simon Andrews, Student
Kerry Shaw, Staff
Liza Bialik, Student
Jack Kenney, Student
Randy Barrios, Staff
Andrew Gorry, Staff
Emma Anderson, Staff
Jack Wileden, Faculty
Colette Basiliere. Student
Ben Conrick, Staff
Katie Smith, Staff
Anonymous, Staff
Anonymous, Student
Eliot Moss, Faculty
Jean Joyce, Staff
Peter Haas, Faculty
Sheshera Mysore, Student
Anonymous, Staff
Sean Folan, Student
Nicholas Monath, Student
Manzil Zaheer, Researcher
Anonymous, Student
Lawrence Tseng, Student
Anonymous, Alum
Patience Hartley, Staff
Sankaran Vaidyanathan, Student
Marco Serafini, Faculty
Dorota Glosowitz, Staff
Brian Levine, Faculty
Srisuma Movva, Student
Jesse Goodspeed, Student
Catherine Zhu, Student
Lee Spector, Faculty
Matt Lustig, Staff
Julie Stubbs, Staff 
Jessica Fill, Staff
Brian Lynn, Staff
Elizabeth Parolski, Staff
Jessi Johnson, Student
Brant Cheikes, Staff
Nancy Fontes, Staff
Jennifer Page, Staff
Pamela Stawasz, Staff
Anisha Pai, Student
Anonymous, Staff