Faculty Recruiting Support CICS

CICS to Recognize Recipients of 2022 Outstanding Achievement & Advocacy Awards 

Outstanding Achievement & Advocacy

On April 8, the Manning College of Information and Computer Sciences will honor the recipients of its 2022 Outstanding Achievement and Advocacy (OAA) awards. 

Now in its thirteenth year, the OAA Awards program celebrates the remarkable accomplishments of selected alumni and community members, and acknowledges important friends and supporters of the college. The awardees will be honored at a banquet and ceremony, beginning with a 5:00 reception in the Old Chapel.

This year's honorees are:

Outstanding Achievement in Education
For sustained leadership in computer science education and dedication to the development of opportunities in distance learning
Francisco Cervantes-Pérez ‘85PhD
President, Universities Network of PROEDUCA Global
Professor, International University of La Rioja
Vice President, Iberoamerican Association for Distance Education

Outstanding Achievement in Management
For excellence in leadership, software engineering, and systems integration
Julie Flannery ‘93BS
Senior Director of Software Engineering, Dell Technologies

Outstanding Achievement by a Young Alum
For outstanding achievement in deep learning research at an early stage of her career
Tian Guo ‘13MS, ‘16PhD
Assistant Professor, Worcester Polytechnic Institute. 

Outstanding Achievement in Entrepreneurship
For outstanding innovation and leadership in technology-driven collaboration and strategic product management
Christopher Jaynes ‘00PhD
Founder and Chief Technology Officer, Mersive Technologies

Computing for the Common Good Award
For leadership and significant contributions to secure computing systems and trustworthy elections
Joseph Kiniry ‘94MS
Principal Scientist, Galois
Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientist, Free & Fair. 

Outstanding Support for the College
For sustained contributions to computer and information science education through scholarship gifts to support student success
Hanuma Kodavalla ‘88MS
Technical Fellow, Microsoft 

To learn more about the awardees, see the 2022 OAA Award recipient bios.