Faculty Recruiting Support CICS

2014 Graduate fellowships and scholarships awarded

Daniel Stubbs (BS '14) received a 2014 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship. Stubbs, who also received the Computing Research Association 2014 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award, is pursuing a Ph.D. in Computer Science at Stanford University.  The competitive fellowship provides three years of support for graduate study leading to research-based masters or doctoral degrees and is intended for students who are in the early stages of their graduate study. Rick Freedman and Ted Smith received Honorable Mention in the 2014 NSF Fellowship competition.

Dan Zhang, a first year doctoral student, is the recipient of the 2014 Jim Gray Scholarship in Computer Science. She received a B.S. in Computer Science from Harbin Institute of Technology, China. In 2013, she won the first Applied Surface Science journal Frans Habraken Best Paper Award.

First year doctoral student Amee Trivedi is the first recipient of the Sudha and Rajesh Jha Scholarship. She received a B.S. in Information Technology Engineering from the University of Mumbai. Prior to joining UMass, she was a member of the technical staff at NetApp in Bangalore.

Doctoral student Kaleigh Clary is the 2014 recipient of the Victor Lesser Graduate Scholarship in Artificial Intelligence. She received a B.S. in Computer Science and Mathematics from Hendrix College.  She was awarded a competitive Goldwater Scholarship in 2013.

Tsung-Yu Lin, a first year doctoral student, received the 2014 Robin Popplestone Fellowship in Robotics & Artificial Intelligence. He received a B.S. and M.S. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan. His research interests are in computer vision.

Kristina Fedorenko is the 2014 recipient of the Paul Utgoff Memorial Graduate Scholarship in Machine Learning. She received a B.A. in Astronomy and Computer Science from Smith College. Prior to joining the Ph.D. program this fall, she was a developer at the Gemini Observatory.

The 2014 Tuition Award recipient is Liudmila Elagina. The School of Computer Science initiated a tuition award program after the International Programs Office discontinued its program. She is a Master's student who received a B.A. in Mathematics and Economics from the State University of New York, Buffalo.