Faculty Recruiting Support CICS

Ramesh K. Sitaraman

Ramesh Sitaraman
Professor & Informatics Program Director
310 CS Building
(413) 545-3279


Internet-scale distributed systems, Content delivery networks, Cloud computing, Algorithms, and Theoretical Computer Science.


Prof. Sitaraman's research focuses on all aspects of Internet-scale distributed systems, including algorithms, architectures, performance, energy efficiency, user behavior, and economics. During a stint in industry, he helped create the world's first major content delivery networks. He is best known for pioneering Internet-scale distributed networks that currently deliver much of the world's web content, streaming videos, and online applications to billions of users around the world.


Prof. Sitaraman is currently in the College of Information and Computer Sciences at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. He received a B. Tech. in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. and a Ph.D. in computer science from Princeton University.

Activities & Awards

Prof. Sitaraman is a recipient of an NSF Research Initiation Award, an NSF CAREER Award, and a Lilly Fellowship. He has been nominated by his students for the university-wide Distinguished Teaching Award in four separate years and recently won the College Outstanding Teacher Award of the College of Natural Sciences. Most notably, in 2016 he was awarded India's prestigous Hind Rattan Award in recognition of contributions to the field of computer science. He has served on numerous program committees and editorial boards of major conferences and journals.