Faculty Recruiting Support CICS

W. Bruce Croft

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
368 CS Building
(413) 545-0463


Information retrieval and search engines.


Professor Croft's research interests are in many areas of information retrieval, including retrieval models, representation, Web search, query processing, cross-lingual retrieval, and search architectures. He has published more than 250 articles on these and other subjects. His h-index is 100 according to his Google Scholar profile. He has been involved in the organization of many workshops and conferences and has given many keynote presentations. Through the joint Lemur Project with CMU, his group has provided open-source search engines and research tools to many in the academic and industrial IR community.


Ph.D., Computer Science, University of Cambridge, England (1979), M.Sc., Computer Science, Monash University, Australia (1974), B.Sc., Monash University, Australia (1973). Professor Croft has been on the faculty of the University of Massachusetts Amherst since 1979, and is currently a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science, and the Director of the Center for Intelligent Information Retrieval. From 2015 - 2017, he was the Dean of the College of Information and Computer Sciences. He was Chair of the UMass Amherst Computer Science Department from 2001 - 2007. 

Activities & Awards

Dr. Croft was a member of the National Research Council Computer Science and Telecommunications Board, 2000-2003, and Editor-in-Chief of ACM Transactions on Information Systems, 1995-2002. Dr. Croft was elected a Fellow of ACM in 1997, received the Research Award from the American Society for Information Science and Technology in 2000, and received the Gerard Salton Award, a lifetime achievement award, from the ACM Special Interest Group in Information Retrieval (SIGIR) in 2003 for significant and sustained research contributions to information retrieval. In 2013, he received the UKeiG Tony Kent Stix Award and, in 2014, the IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award. He received the UMass Amherst College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics (NSM; now CNS) Outstanding Faculty Award in 2001, the UMass Amherst NSM Outstanding Service Award in 2005, and a UMass Amherst Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Award for 2007-08.