Faculty Recruiting Make a Gift

OAA 2011 Panel Discussion with Award Recipients

OAA 2011 Panel Discussion with Award Recipients

Join us on Friday, May 6th from 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. to hear from our 2011 Outstanding Achievement and Advocacy Award Recipients. Hear about the careers of our alums, their experiences as students here, and how those experiences prepared them for their careers. There will be plenty of time for Q&A. The session will be held in CS 150/151. Light refreshments will be served.

The 2011 OAA Award Recipients are:

  • Outstanding Achievement in Research: Ronald Craig Arkin (UMass Amherst CS Ph.D. '87) - Regents' Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Space Planning in the College of Computing at Georga Institute of Technology. He is also the Director of the Mobile Robot Laboratory.
  • Outstanding Achievement in Management: Renu Chipalkatti (UMass Amherst CS M.S. '87) - Global Head, Vertical Industry Solutions: Product Management at Verizonbusiness
  • Outstanding Achievement in Entrepreneurship: A. Anthony Gee (UMass Amherst CS B.S. '90) - co-Founder and Managing Partner of Carthage Capital Group
  • Outstanding Achievement by a Young Alum: Irene Ros (UMass Amherst CS B.S. '06) - Research Developmer at the Visual Communication Lab, a group within the Collaborative User Experience group at the Center for Social Software at IBM Research
  • Outstanding Achievement in Public Service: John L. Woods (UMass Amherst CS Ph.D. '80) - retired in 2006 at President and General Manager of TRW's Electromagnetic Systems Laboratory
  • Outstanding Achievement in Education: Wei Zhao (UMass Amherst CS Ph.D. '86) - Rector and Chaired Professor of the University of Macau
  • Outstanding Achievement in Technology Development: Michael Zyda (UMass Amherst CS M.S. '78) - Director of the Game Pipe Laboratory and a Professor of Engineering Practice in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Southern California

Read more about the recipients