Faculty Recruiting Support CICS

CICS to Recognize Outstanding Alumni, Students, and Community Members in 2020 Ceremony

CICS wordmark

UPDATE: This event is canceled due to heightened concerns about the spread of coronavirus and the governor’s declaration of a state of emergency in Massachusetts.

On April 6, 2020, the College of Information and Computer Sciences (CICS) will honor selected alumni and community members during the 12th annual Outstanding Achievement and Advocacy (OAA) awards banquet and ceremony. The banquet will take place in the Old Chapel, beginning with a 5:00 p.m. reception. Laura Haas, dean of the college, will deliver opening remarks, followed by lightning talks from CICS faculty on their current research, and the award ceremony.

James Allan, chair of the faculty, will present the following awards:

Computing for the Common Good — Kavya Krishna '16BS
For leadership and significant contributions to promoting STEM education for young women in developing countries.

Outstanding Achievement in Technical Development — Harpreet Sawhney '92PhD
For outstanding technical and scholarly accomplishments in computer vision and immersive applications.

Outstanding Achievement in Education — Francisco Cervantes-Pérez '85PhD
For sustained leadership in computer science education and dedication to the development of opportunities in distance learning.

Outstanding Support for the College — Adjunct Professor Robert Sproull
For long-standing service and extraordinary leadership in shaping the college’s vision.

Outstanding Achievement in Management — Lee Delaney '93BS
For excellence in organizational design, marketing, and corporate strategy.

During the banquet, the college will also present awards to the winners of this year’s Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation awards, Stephen Lee ‘19PhD and Hamed Zamani ‘19PhD, and recognize CICS student scholarship recipients as a way to honor their achievements and the impact the college's donors have on student excellence.