Faculty Recruiting Support CICS

CICS to Recognize Outstanding Achievement and Advocacy Recipients

award plaques

On April 5, the College of Information and Computer Sciences (CICS) will honor selected alumni during the 11th annual Outstanding Achievement and Advocacy (OAA) award banquet and ceremony. The OAA awards were established to celebrate the remarkable accomplishments of the college's degree programs and to acknowledge important friends and supporters of CICS.

The banquet will take place in the Old Chapel, beginning with a 5:00 p.m. reception. CICS Dean Laura Haas will deliver opening remarks, followed by a series of lightning talks by faculty on their current research, and the award ceremony.

James Allan, chair of the faculty, will present the following awards:

  • Computing for the Common Good Award - Helen Gigley (MS '69, PhD '82)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Research - Matthew B. Dwyer (PhD '95)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Education - Panos K. Chrysanthis (MS '86, PhD '91)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Entrepreneurship - Arvind Nithrakashyap (MS '97)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Management - Paul Scorza (BS '81)
  • Outstanding Achievement in Management - Quentin Clark (BS '94)
  • Outstanding Achievements by a Young Alum - Jay M. Wong (BS '14, MS '16)

Graduate student award winners and scholarship recipients will also be recognized during the banquet to honor CICS students' achievements and the impact the college's donors have on student excellence.

The 2019 OAA recipients have demonstrated leadership and success in their fields, and have honored CICS with their accomplishments.

See more information on the awardees here: 2019 OAA Award Recipient Biographies.